Press Releases
Here’s what Daesung Group has to say as we soar towards our 100 year vision
Press Releases detail table
Title Daesung Group Chairman Younghoon David Kim Honored with the 8th ‘Seo Sangdon Award’ 2014.03.19

FROM: Daesung Group

Daesung Group Chairman Younghoon David Kim
Honored with the 8th ‘Seo Sangdon Award’



[March 19, 2014] Younghoon David Kim, Chairman, Daesung Group, was the recipient with the 8th Seo Sangdon Award. This prestigious award, established by The Foreign Debt Redemption Movement Committee and the Maeil Shinmun (a major Daegu newspaper), honors the memory of Seo Sangdon, who advocated economic independence and the restoration of national rights through the foreign debt redemption movement in 1907. The award is given bi-annually to a person credited with contributing to national economic development. Mayor Kim Beomil of Daegu, Governor Kim Kwangyoung of Gyeongsangbuk-do Province and Vice-President Moon Youngsoo of the Daegu Chamber of Commerce and Industry were some of the VIPs who attended this year’s ceremony held in the Grand Hotel in Daegu.

This award was given to Chairman Kim specifically to recognize his contribution to the development of the Korean energy industry through the successful hosting of the World Energy Congress in Daegu in October 2013.  Chairman Kim also serves as the Co-chair of the World Energy Council (WEC) which organized the Congress.

“It is an honor to receive such a significant award,” commented Chairman Kim. “I know that there are many people who have contributed greatly to national economic development. Thus, in the spirit of Seo Sangdon this award will serve as inspiration to me to fulfill my responsibilities as an entrepreneur, and do my utmost for both local and national growth.”

Daesung Group bases its corporate philosophy on the concept of Pro Bono (for the public interest). In other words, the company’s growth should in turn contribute to the growth of the larger community and to Korea as a whole. In addition to its core business, which is the provision of natural gas, Daesung Group has expanded into the renewable energy sector entering foreign markets such as Mongolia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan and Bangladesh

Past winners of the Seo Sangdon Award include Yongsung Park, former chairman of the Korean Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Gutaek Lee, former CEO of POSCO, Younghoo Kwan, CEO of Inter-Burgo Group, Younsuk Lee, honorary president of Hwasung Industrial and Duksoo Kang, the chairman of STX Group.


6 7 8 9 10